Blizzards and kittens

In my last post I made the comment that I was secretly hoping for a blizzard and thought I would be waiting a long time.  Little did I know that within a month, that blizzard would be happening.  Last tuesday night that secret wish became a reality as mother nature proceded to dump about 18 inches of snow on South Central Wisconsin.  Woo Hoo!!!!!  It all started late tuesday afternoon and continued through the night into the late wednesday morning.  It was awesome and incredible.  The only thing NOT incredible about it was the sinus headache that I had to endure the previous monday night.  Three hours of snowblowing and shoveling had the driveway, walkway, hottub, and patio dug out.  That weekend was only to bring another one to two inches of snow but my next headache told me differently.  Sure enough, another five inches was on the ground.  It’s a winter wonderland around here with piles and piles of snow.

Now, Isabella is a totally different kind of headache.  I was stitching on Chatelaine’s Mini Mandala Mystery 3 with Miss Izzy watching me from the floor when my daughter needed my help with something.  I anchored the needle and floss, which was still in fabric as I only had one and a half stitches done, and got up and helped my daughter with whatever it was she was needing help with.  When I came back to my stitching chair, there was Izzy sitting in the chair with my floss hanging from the fabric to her mouth.  I hoped it was hanging through her mouth but as I got closer to her I could see the floss was coming from her mouth.  Crap!!!  I walked up to her and started pulling it realizing I was pulling it from her mouth and throat.  The end of the floss comes out of her mouth and no needle.  Insert a few not so polite words here.  I call the vet and they recommend the after hours, 24 hour emergency vet clinic in Middleton and an endoscopy.  Soooo …off Marissa, Isabella, and I go to Middleton.  The x-ray confirms the needle is indeed in Izzy’s stomach along with a full stomach of food.  Oh joy!!!!  Of course the first course of action they suggest is surgery to the tune of 2500-3500.  I don’t think so.  I inquire about inducing vomitting, then endoscopy, and then mother nature taking her course.  They try to induce vomitting but she wouldn’t (damn kitten).  An hour after starting the endoscopy, the needle was finally removed from Izzy’s stomach to the tune of about 600.  Needless to say, ALL needles and floss are now completely put away, up high if I have to leave my stitching without anyone in the room. 

The Packers looked great in the Super Bowl and Aaron accomplished something Brett never did …MVP of the Super Bowl.  Way to go.  Now that football season is completely over, college hoops gets my undivided attention.  What timing too.  This saturday is the #1 Ohio Buckeyes @ #14 Wisconsin Badgers.  The Badgers are undefeated at the Kohl Center this year and are extremely hard to beat there.  Bo Ryan has an excellent record there.  However, they are going to have to play a lot better than they did against Iowa last night.

Have a wonderful rest of the week and I hope to post a stitching finish VERY soon.

Kelly

~ by wistitcher on February 10, 2011.

2 Responses to “Blizzards and kittens”

  1. Yikes! I’ve had cats eat floss or yarn before, but not the needle. I’m so glad they were able to retrieve it! Endoscopy vs surgery was definitely the way to go. I’m glad she will be okay!

  2. Glad your kitty is okay, that sounds really scary!

Leave a Reply

 
