Christmas is past …

and it is now a new year.  It has to better than the last one.  I just want most parts of the past year to be forgotten. 

Christmas as always was hectic.  Three celebrations in three days, two of which I hosted.  Christmas day my dad, step-mom, and brother came to the house.  Stockings were checked, gifts unwrapped, and much food consumed.  Throughout the early part of the day we mainly just munched on goodies that my brother made.  Then for dinner I made Cornish Hens stuffed with homemade stuffing, mashed potatoes, corn, fresh bread, with sauteed apples over vanilla bean ice cream for dessert.  Had a nice day over all.  The next day, my mom, step-dad, and brother came over.  Lunch consisted of Beef Chili, White Chicken Chili, cocktail smokies in bbq sauce, cheese and crackers.  Dinner was Steak, Swiss Cheese Fondue, baked potatoes, dinner rolls, and homemade dutch apple pie with vanilla bean ice cream.  In between meals we checked stockings, unwrapped gifts and in general had a nice day.  Every year my mom gives everyone a Christmas tree ornament.  I finally took a photo of one that she got me a couple of years ago and those of you who know me well will say it fits:

Heres this years tree.  This is how I like the tree, with all the unopened gifts and stocking under it. 

One of my favorite gifts that I received this year was a set of three nestled storage chests.  I absolutely love them and they help keep some of my stitching stuff out of sight.

Tuesday when I was out running errands, I had some time and stopped in an antique shop in Monroe, WI.  I had been in it before but never really find anything exciting.  This time was different.  In the downstairs level, way in the back, I found this:

Alas, I didn’t have the $350.00 that was on the price tag.

Well, I hope this finds you all well and that 2011 treats you all with many wonderful things in life.

With love,

Kelly

~ by wistitcher on January 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
