One done …

and one to go.  Holidays that is.  Thanksgiving has come and gone and I survived.  I say this because the tuesday before Thanksgiving I managed to come down with a nasty cold.  I still managed to pull off all the cooking, baking, cleaning, and decorating for the day.  The menu was turkey (of course), home made stuffing, mashed potatoes, corn, homemade bread, pumpkin bars, and holiday cut-out cookies.

   

              

Onto the next holiday, Christmas.  I used to really enjoy the holidays and get into them.  Especially Christmas.  Some where along the line I have lost the magic of Christmas but I hope to get it back some day.  I still decorate, wrap presents and all that jazz but it just isn’t like it used to be.  I don’t get excited for it any more.  I keep thinking of the Faith Hill song “Where Are You Christmas” and know that someday it will all come back to me.  Decorating the outside of the house is easy.  A wreath is put on the chimney with a spot light shining on it at night and lighted garland is wrapped around the post in the front yard.  Outside done.  The inside is a little more but not a whole lot.  Stockings will be hung, the tree will be put up and decorated, and few other things will be done but not a whole lot.  I’ll post pictures if I ever get the decorating done.  I should be able to in the next couple of days.  Not really sure how the tree is going to happen this year because of this addition:

Her name is Isabella and she is my daughters Christmas gift.  She got her early for a variety of reasons that I won’t go into.  Isabella is now 15 weeks old and full of energy.  She is a ton of fun to watch and play with and Marissa adores her.  Just not sure how she will deal with the tree.  Any advice would be great.  FYI, it is an artificial tree.

I only got two of the craft projects done that I wanted to do but I think they both turned out nice.  The first was really isn’t a craft project but more of a decorating project.  I found my grandfathers old slates, his pocket watch, and an old yard stick.  The phone number on it is …7.  So, I took those things with a couple of other items I found stashed in the basement decorated a side of the fireplace mantel. 

I see I missed the yard stick in the photo.  Oh well.  The other thing was a craft project …of sorts.  I bought the supplies at the Madison Hobby Lobby.  I LOVE that store.  I got the glassware in the clearance section 66% off, got the Christmas bulbs at 50% off, and then got a string of 35 white lights.  I think total I spent around 25.00 for the entire thing.  I have it sitting on  the hearth right in front of the fireplace doors.  I just wish the lights had a green cord instead of white one.

With the flash:

Without the flash:

In stitching news, I have officially taken Quaker Diamonds off of the scroll rods and started a new chart.  I wasn’t really stitching and I thought maybe a change of color scheme would do some good.  I started …Butterfly Sampler by Chatelaine.  Not a lot to show just yet but give me another week or so and I’ll have some photos for you.

Till next time remember that…everyday holds the possibility of a miracle.

With love,

Kelly

~ by wistitcher on December 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “One done …”

  1. Those cookies look so yummy! 🙂

    What a sweet little kitty for Marissa. Somedays I wish I had a cat.

  2. I love what you have done with your Grandfather’s things. How nice to show them off. They are really interesting and make a really nice display.

    Your kitten is so pretty! Bet she’s a handful!

    And the glassware is awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
